2016 SA Olive Awards Results

Last night, Thursday 1st September, we had the pleasure of attending the 2016 SA Olive Awards gala dinner  held at Kronenburg function venue in Paarl, where a total of 36 extra virgin olive oils (EVOO) of the 2016 harvest were acclaimed as South Africa’s finest.

These premium products walked off with Gold medals in three categories – 6 for Delicate, 20 for Medium and 10 for Intense. The competition, now in its 11th year, attracted a record 110 entries. In addition to the 36 Gold medals, 53 Silver and 11 Bronze medals were awarded.


A team of professional tasters meticulously scrutinized the medal contenders one-by-one according to quality, complexity and balance in terms of aroma and taste during a four-day blind tasting, and these are the results:

The gold medallists in the Delicate category are: De Rustica Estate Delicate EVOO, Greenleaf EVOO, Mont Rouge Owner’s Reserve EVOO, River Press EVOO, Spar Authentic EVOO and Tokara Frantoio EVOO.

In the category for Medium EVOO’s top honours went to: Adamskloof EVOO, Andante EVOO, Cederberg Olives Frantoio EVOO, Chaloner Mountain Oil EVOO, De Rustica Estate Medium EVOO, Gabriëlskloof EVOO, Galenia Estate Director’s Blend EVOO, Galenia Estate Estate Blend EVOO, Kleinbergskloof Estate Blend EVOO, Kloovenburg EVOO, Kredouw Frantoio EVOO, Lettas Kraal Green Olive Blend EVOO, Lettas Kraal EVOO, Marbrin Olive Growers Medium EVOO, Mont Rouge Karoo Reserve EVOO, Rio Largo EVOO, Rio Largo Gold EVOO, Waterleliefontein EVOO, Wildekrans Field Blend Selection EVOO and Wildekrans Endless EVOO.

The top-performers in the Intense category are: Andante Forte EVOO, Andante Intenso EVOO, Anysbos EVOO, De Rustica Estate Intense EVOO, Kransfontein Coratina EVOO, Marbrin Olive Growers Intense EVOO, Marbrin Olive Growers Directors Reserve EVOO, Prince Albert Olives Karoo Blend Intense EVOO, Rio Largo Premium Blend EVOO and Willow Creek Director’s Reserve EVOO.

De Rustica, Marbrin Farm, Porterville Olives, Rio Largo Olive Estate and The Greenleaf Olive Co clinched 3 Gold medals each. Galenia Estate, Lettas Kraal, Mont Rouge and Wildekrans won 2 Gold medals apiece. Adamskloof, Anysbos Olywe, Cederberg Olives, Chaloner, Gabriëlskloof, Kleinbergskloof Olive Estate, Kloovenburg, Kransfontein, Kredouw, Prince Albert Olives, Tokara, Waterleliefontein, Wildekrans and Willow Creek Olive Estate received 1 Gold medal individually.

collage olive awards

Download the full awards results below:


SA Olive Association
Latest posts by SA Olive Association (see all)